Liverpool Bike Plan


The first Liverpool Bike Plan was created in 1985, which built several cycleways in Green Valley, Miller, Cartwright and Liverpool. This plan was updated in 1996, which added in additional cyclways in Moorebank, Wattle Grove, Holsworthy, and Prestons. These plans were focused primarily on recreational cycling.

The State Government through the Roads and Traffic Authority has also built several cycleways within Liverpool during this period. These include the Liverpool-Parramatta Rail Trail, the Liverpool-Parramatta Transitway Cycleway, the M7 Motorway off road Cycleway, the M5 Cycleway and the Cowpasture Road Cycleway. The Department of Planning has also built the Western Sydney Parklands Trail.

The Liverpool Bike Plan 2009, enhances that which has been built and brings together a greater focus on commuter cycling, as well as recreational cycling that was emphasised in the previous bike plans. 

Liverpool Bike Plan

The Liverpool Bike Plan was adopted by Council on the 14 September 2009, and provides for a network of cycleways connecting Liverpool City Centre to the suburban areas, as well as to suburban shopping centres. The Liverpool Bike Plan can be found here.

Recently completed cycleways include Hoxton Park Road from the Transitway to Hume Highway, Kurrajong Road from Hume Highway to San Marino Drive, Jedda Road to M7 Motorway and Hume Highway from Beech Road to Leacocks Lane. 

The State is providing $78 Million in funding for Cycleway construction in the River Cities of Liverpool, Parramatta and Penrith.

Several maps have been produced to show the Liverpool Bike Plan features.

Existing Bike Paths and Facilities (October 2010)

Proposed Bike Paths (October 2010)